NVG History

© Sarah Anne Risk

Napa Valley Grapegrowers Historic Accomplishments

When the Napa Valley Grape Growers Association was first formed, the founders’ aim was to create an organization that would focus on sustaining grape growing in the Napa Valley for years to come. The founding members gave a strong, independent voice to grape growers in the Valley and set an important precedent.

For more than four decades, the individuals who make up the NVG have been using that voice to foster sustainability, educate the community and promote the Napa Valley as one of the world’s premiere winegrowing regions.

1975 Napa Valley Grape Growers Association formed

1976 NVG actively involved in protecting the Napa Valley appellation through BATF hearings

  • Berryhill Bill passed with strong NVG support, resulting in the annual Grape Crush Report
  • NVG produced the first Production Cost Report for Napa Valley winegrapes
  • NVG developed the Bottle Price Formula, directly tying the price of grapes to the price of a bottle of wine

1977 NVG played a key role in lobbying that geographical and historical indicators be used to establish a wine’s appellation of origin

1985 NVG initiated the Winery Definition Ordinance, mandating that 75% of grapes in Napa wine must come from Napa Valley vineyards

1990 NVG actively supported Measure J

2004 NVG became an independent organization

2008 NVG hosts the first annual Harvest STOMP, supporting the organization’s mission to preserve and promote Napa Valley’s world-class vineyards

2011 NVG founded the Napa Valley Farmworker Foundation to support and promote Napa Valley’s vineyard workers through education and professional development

Napa Valley Grapegrowers Founders - 1975

Rennick Harris

William Jaeger, Jr.

John Trefethen

W. Andrew Beckstoffer

Virgil Galleron

Justin Meyer

Joseph Miller

Napa Valley Grapegrowers Past Presidents

1975 John Trefethen

1976 Andrew Beckstoffer

1978 John Shafer

1980 Ren Harris

1982 Mike Walsh

1984 Bob Phillips

1986 Ron Wicker

1988 Volker Eisele

1990 Lee Hudson

1992 Pat Garvey

1994 Al Buckland

1996 John Crossland

1997 Doug Stanton

2000 Dale Brown

2002 Frank Leeds

2004 Eric Titus

2006 Randy Snowden

2008 Bruce Phillips

2010 David Beckstoffer

2012 Jon Ruel

2014 Steve Moulds

2016 Garrett Buckland

2018 Paul Goldberg